Mid-Century Inspiration on Fall 2013 Runways

Prada Calvin Klein Aquilano.Rimondi

 

I’ve been mildly obsessed with the Fall/Winter 2013 fashion week coverage that has been all over the internet lately. Being as vintage-minded as I am, I couldn’t help but notice a ton of mid-century fashion inspiration this season. From the drowned Hitchcock-heroines at Prada, to the Grace Kelly-classic at Calvin Klein, there was a ton of 1950’s revival going on.

And it makes sense! The 1950’s silhouettes are incredibly classic- ladylike, feminine, and typically flattering. The defined waist, flared skirt, and modest lengths of the 1950’s showed up again and again during fashion week. Where modern designers made things interesting was in regards to the fabric; alligator, leather, texture, and metallics all helped liven up these classic, “New Look” silhouettes. Below, a few of my favorites.

Marni Fall 2013

 

Marni

I am always partial to Italian chic and Marni never disappoints. The mid-century inspiration at Marni is apparent, but far less obvious that on other runways. Flared skirts paired with boxy jackets helped balance the feminine detailing. Fur-trimmed suits, knee-length skirts, and cinched belts added to this chic balance of effortless femininity.

Prada Fall 2013

 

Prada

I watched the streaming video of the Prada show and to be honest I was swooning the entire time. First of all, the runway was breathtaking. Second of all, I loooooved the juxtaposition between the undone, wet hair on the models and the crisp, impeccable suits, jackets, and dresses they were wearing. Prada’s 1950’s references were perhaps the most obvious of the season and it is probably my favorite collection for fall I’ve seen so far. It’s very late fifties, early sixties, but again with the edgier fabrics and the bold accessories. I can’t stress enough how much I love the wet hair; they could have gone over the top with complete retro hair and makeup, but they didn’t, because it’s Prada and they know what they’re doing.

Alberta Ferretti Fall 2013

 

Alberta Ferretti

Another favorite of mine so far, Alberta Ferretti played with classic feminine shapes in shorter lengths and the typical dreamy, lightweight fabrics that Ferretti often works with. To me, the mid-century element of this collection were the flats! It’s very 1959/1960 to pair feminine skirts and dresses that could easily be dressed up with beautiful flats. I find it to be very Audrey Hepburn/Sandra Dee and I fully support this. Here’s to hoping flats make a comeback for 2013!

Fall 2013 Predictions

So far, Fall/Winter 2013/14 is looking to be a pretty successful season for fashion. I love the classic references, the mix of luxury and ease, and the updated feminine silhouettes of the 1950’s. Overall, the runways were full of vintage references, from the 1920’s at Emporio Armani to Sixties aesthetics at Proenza Schouler  (and others; everyone loves to reference the 1960’s). And I am into it! I really love the idea of dresses and flats right now after the beautiful Ferretti show, and love that my favorite trends from Spring 2013 are still carrying over, like cobalt blue, cutouts, and peplums. If you haven’t already, I suggest watching some of the streaming videos of the fashion shows this season because so far I have been really impressed!

Coming soon…

So I haven’t been updating much (as you may have noticed) which has a lot to do with grad school and not having enough spare time to research and write fashion history articles. Still, I’d love to keep updating! This was just a little post of what’s been on my mind fashion-wise lately, but I’ll be posting more soon, including more about fashion history. I plan on offering some other new installments soon too, in particular tips for modern girls looking to live the vintage life, aesthetically speaking that is. I get a lot of questions in real life about my makeup and hair, so I thought I’d do some upcoming posts reviewing my favorite retro makeup and giving vintage hair styling tips as well.

So stay tuned!

Cheers,

Stephanie

Leave a comment

Filed under 2013, Fashion

Leave a Reply

